• Advertisement

Newbie here!

Discuss all things related to 4x4, Isuzu's and anything else related to getting out and about

Newbie here!

Postby samk115 » Tue Aug 19, 2014 9:37 pm

Hi all. I'm new to the 4x4 scene in general, have fiddled around with race cars prior and am also a mechanic so I'm looking forward to something new!

I recently picked up a 94 bighorn swb off a workmate with the 4jg2 in it, really happy with it so far. It's had a bigger exhaust put on to help pull heat away, a k&n air filter and has had the hubs swapped to manuals.

I'm currently looking for new tyres for it and I'm leaning towards something like the mickey Thompson atz. It seems good for what I'd like to do. I'm currently running some 265/70r16s on the factory alloys, but I'm wondering if 265/75r16s will fit on the old girl ok without any sort of lifting???

Anyway, I just thought I'd say gidday and sneak that question in at the same time!!

Cheers,

Sam
samk115
Isuzu Baby

City: Dunedin
Vehicle: 94 Bighorn 3.1TD SWB

Re: Newbie here!

Postby dubdubdub » Wed Aug 20, 2014 6:43 am

Hi Sam, welcome :D, bigger exhaust helps... getting my bighorn a 3 inch down pipe this weekend :mrgreen: .. also installing a EGT so I can see whats going on when I crank the diesel pump up.. Ive got 31'' muds on and loving it.. highly recommend over a/t's obviously all depends on how much you off road 265/75R15 will fit no problem with no lifting required very similar to a 31x10.5r15 but go muds :) :) post a pic of the new whip!!
dubdubdub
Isuzu Baby

City: Auckland
Vehicle: 1993 Isuzu Bighorn LWB 3.1 turbo diesel, 31'' Achilles Desert Hawks Muds

Postby samk115 » Wed Aug 20, 2014 5:54 pm